On “Well Adjusted Hapas”

The minute that anyone can tell me how an Asian looking Hapa who watches his own mother throw herself at non-Asian men can develop into a well rounded individual – let me know.

But I’ve heard through the grapevine about some “well adjusted Hapas.”

I’ve heard this a lot, but anyone who has ever known adult Hapas realize that many of us have severe problems.

I’d chalk this up to any number of things, one largely being the Tiger Mom, one being that ones own mother is a sociopath who rewarded white supremacy, one being that ones own father deliberately attempted to exert dominance over Asianness – i.e., children being raised by “raceplayers” (such as, white men who get off on sexual dominance over Asian women, just look up and Asian raceplay blog), one being the inability of the white father to correctly parent the half-Asian son (my father treating me essentially as a white child, never exposing me to Asian media), one being that due to the whole scale behavior of Asian women, identifying as Asian is largely a practice in masochism.

But by and large the issue is of looks.

If you meet a well adjusted “Hapa” – six out of ten times he will look almost completely white. And even then – like in the case of Daniel Holtzclaw or Elliot Rodger – the issues still linger. Three out of ten times, he won’t admit it, despite being an extremely passive aggressive type, emotionally unstable, perpetually single, and unwilling to badmouth his parents. One out of ten times the guy will be gay – either openly, but more likely, in the closet, out of fear of offending his conservative parents.

came close to looking white, very white. But more than enough times I’ve been told that I look Asian, that I have an “Asian vibe,” that girls “don’t date Asians.” And my brother – who looks full blown Asian – is 32, a virgin, but luckily too steeped in filial piety and his own mental illness that he would never even bother to question these things and is likely going to wind up dying without a kiss.

But more so, when I was between 18-24 or so, I passed as white. I passed as 100% white – people largely thought I was Russian except for the discerning types, who made a point to call me out on my Asian heritage in an attempt to belittle me. And that was when I realized that being Hapa wasn’t something to be proud of.

Being Hapa was never something to be proud of. It was largely a lie pushed onto us by hateful Asian women who sought out white men for integration, assimilation, money, status, or whiter kids; they put no thought into it other than slapping it with a general label of “beautiful Hapas” and gave us no roadmap at all for navigating a racist world – one that Asian women were themselves complicit in.

Frankly – if you look white, why would you even bother identifying as Asian unless you absolutely had to? Not only is there a monumental stigma against Asian males in any Western countries, but you would subject yourself to repeated comments from both men and women alike regarding your heritage. And no white-passing Hapa would ever be able to stomach full blown anti-Asian racism directed at them. At other Asians, sure, but not at them. 

One of the most offensive things to me is when non-Asians make comments about Asian people assuming that I won’t care. Such as:

  • “I don’t go to that library, there are way too many Asians in there.”
  • “So and so friend (who is Asian) blends right in here,” (when walking through Chinatown).
  • “Yeah, Asians are known for running cash-only scams and skimming to avoid tax.” (Maybe true but who gives a shit?)

The vast, vast, vast majority of time when you encounter a Hapa with problematic issues – he will look Asian. Are there Asian looking Hapas who are well adjusted? I’m sure there are, too, but I’m betting my bottom dollar still waters run deep.

This isn’t an opinion. I’m asking my readers to go out and actually meet these people because I know they exist.

And when there is a Hapa who stands up and says that people like me are lunatics – I am right here telling him, as a person who could pass as white without enough concerted effort – that they’re only behaving that way (i.e., “carefree”) because they have no experience being treated like an Asian.

Apparently with the way I look I am treated as Asian by only the most discerning – but that’s what counts. Even a little bit of Asian blood is enough to earn the hatred of people who care enough to make the distinction. Even Asian women have done this to me.

So “white passing” happy-go-lucky Hapas who try to deny these issues, yet probably are the most arrogant little friendless shitheads in real life, or are so deeply damaged at a core level yet whose egotism doesn’t allow them to admit it, or are closeted homosexuals, or are passive aggressive little pricks who balk at the idea of being called Asian, or those obsessive types who just love comparing themselves to Keanu Reeves, and never any other celebrity – don’t take their word seriously.

How would they know?

Want to know just how right I am? Next time you meet a Hapa, just tell him to his face that he looks full Asian and watch his reaction.

 

3 thoughts on “On “Well Adjusted Hapas”

  1. Mr. Longing,

    What do yo do to cope with all this? Asian men seem to be soft targets for bullying, abuse, and Asian women racism. Asian women are perceived to be easy and white men worshiping.

Leave a comment.

